top of page

Listening to the universe



I will be the first to admit on many occasions I have ignored my intuition, I have rationalised all those nagging thoughts and even discounted opportunities as they have come because my rational mind was not ready to deal with what was being put in front of me.


I have spent several years training in different healing disciplines but never really practicing them. Partly because I was too busy with my day job but also I think because I somehow felt I wasn't ready, that I needed to know more. Then I was fortunate enough to be made redundant and after taking a few months out to explore I found myself returning to full time education following a few coincidences that happened.


Many years ago I went to Knuston Hall to take part in a yoga weekend. When I was there I noticed they did wood carving and I thought I'd like to give it a go however, either the course was full or I was busy on the few weekends it was on. Then, a couple of years ago, the brochure fell on my mat and I was free the weekend of the session so I rang up, there was a space! I booked on and have been a couple of times a year ever since.


In the summer of 2016, I took some time out before looking for another job and casually asked at the local college if they did woodcarving classes. They didn't but suggested I might want to do a part time BTEC course so would I like to come along for an interview. At the interview after seeing a picture of my carvings, we ended up discussing the HNC course instead as a mature student the interviewer thought I might prefer it. The person I needed to meet up to discuss this wasn't going to be available until later on in the year though so I had plenty of time to think about it.


I was still not sure where I wanted to go or what I wanted to do but spent a week in Glastonbury doing the Discovery weekend with Michelle (https://goddesstempleteachings.co.uk/wordpress/ - I recommend this to any woman out there - it was a fabulous four days) and during this course I met a lady whose grandfather was a woodcarver and she had been looking for someone to give his tools to. They didn't want to sell them, but give them to someone who would use and appreciate them. I took this as a sign that maybe I should explore this further and that going to study Art and Design was the way to go.


For so many years I have struggled and now things have shifted, I'm open to listening to the opportunities and acting on them rather than rationalising why I shouldn't do it. I finally understand what it is to be in the flow and on the right path after so many years of swimming up stream.







Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page